Bold and Colorful Curtains

April 23, 2012 at 22:52 | Posted in Crafts - DIY, Stimulus | 7 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Happy (belated) Earth Day! and Happy National Dance week! We had a great weekend, full of activities. I took a Vertical Dance Class, it was so much fun! but boy, I was sore all weekend (yes! that is me!). And then  we went to the Poi Fire Dance Expo in SF.

I hope you had a good weekend too!

Now back to business😉 One of the projects in my never-ending list of house projects are curtains. Curtains for the kitchen, the laundry room, the bedrooms… see… never-ending! I only made the ones for the kitchen and laundry room so far, from fabric I got at IKEA. Very colorful fun print and budget friendly.

I hung a beautiful batik cloth Michael bought a long time ago in the office, and I really like how you can see it both from the street and inside, so I think I will keep it like that (one less to do!).

I made these when we lived in the apartment, we chose a rich red color burnt-out fabric that paired really nice with the yellow walls (and with Bob the Super Cat too).

Curtains are relatively easy to make, depending on the style you choose. You can find some guidance about choosing the perfect curtain, calculating the yardage and more here, here, and here. Also, check out these tutorials.

Personally, I prefer the curtains to be bold, graphic and colorful, so here are more ideas I absolutely adore.

 

Do you make your own curtains? Do you prefer graphic or solids? Tell me!🙂

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I like many of the curtains you have shown here and I love the batik cloth seen from both sides. I am generally drawn to bold bright prints but have always tended to be ‘practical’, thinking of hubby’s plainer, more conservative taste. In my lounge I have plain terracotta, cream in my bedroom and navy blackouts in wee man’s room but in my kitchen & bathroom I have gone for my own preference. In my bathroom I had a blind made with some bold & bright, sea life fabric I bought on-line. In one window in my kitchen the curtains are covered in pictures of wild flowers & herbs in pots and the other window is covered in a blind I had made using crocheted rainbow ‘fabric’ I made myself and can be seen on my flickr page.here http://www.flickr.com/photos/65345361@N02/6797481433/in/set-72157628054288164/
    Well you did ask😉
    Have a lovely day🙂
    Mo x

    • Wow! Love the rainbow panel! Very cool. Thank you for sharing!🙂

      • Thank you very much🙂 x

  2. I love the curtains with the rich red burnt-out fabric from your apartment! Are you using those in your new house?

    • Thanks! We do not have those anymore, we donated them to the new renters!

  3. The effect from the batik curtain seen on the inside is amazing, it’s almost like stained glass the way the light hits it. I too am a fan of bold curtains – my living room curtains have a beige background with large 10inch diameter red Poppy prints on it.

    • Yeah, I like the effect too! Your curtains sound fun!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

