{Show & Tell} Artist and Crocheter Kathie Eng

March 7, 2012 at 23:10 | Posted in Crafts - DIY, Stimulus | 6 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Back when I was pregnant, one of the first gift I received was a beautiful and colorful handmade blanket from the mother of my Tango teacher. Not only did she make it especially for us, but then I found that she was an avid crocheter.

So I decided to feature her in the first Show and Tell of Mother Crafter. It is a perfect post to celebrate not only National Craft Month, but also National Crochet Month. I hope you find her work as amazing and inspirational as I do.

Who taught you to crochet?

My grandmother taught me when I was 8 or 9 years old, then I learned more from a neighbor at the time who was a highly skilled crocheter.

When and how did you start making your quilts? 

About 24 years ago, a friend gave me a miniature quilt she made and encouraged me to try to do a crocheted version of it.  I did and it just escalated from there.  Also, I bought a book on Amish quilts, went to see the Esprit Collection at the De Young Museum and then got hooked on them, especially the bar quilts which were and still are my favorites.

What inspired you in your creations?

The beautiful jewel tones and fabulous color combinations in the Amish quilts inspired me to begin with and still do to this day.

What keeps you motivated to continue creating?

The challenge of being able to visualize something, making it, and being able to see the final product.

Do you have other crafts activities/hobbies?

Yes, of course, tango, collage, and baking.  I also used to love to do macrame when that was popular.

Are you able to make a profit from your craft?

Yes, because I do lots of work for a yarn company and various craft publications.

Do you think the economic situation we are living in right now is impacting the DIY/craft world? How?

I don’t experience a difference myself and I think that maybe because of it, more people are trying to make their arts and crafts a means of income.

She also made these Missoni inspired scarves and a green lacey scarf, perfect to celebrate St. Patrick’s Day.

Aren’t these great? Thank you Kathie for joining us and sharing your work! If you would like to be featured in future {Show and Tell}s please send me an email at mothercrafterblog (at) gmail (dot) com.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hi🙂
    I just found you via WordPress and I totally lOve your show & tell feature🙂
    Those crocheted quilts are gorgeous and definitely inspiring. I have ‘shared’ you on FB and ‘Pinned’ some of the quilt pictures too.
    I will be having a good old mooch about your blog as a whole🙂
    Thank you🙂
    ttfn
    x

    • Thank you so much! I hope you’ll enjoy it as much as I do!

      • Hi🙂 Does Kathy have a blog, or Ravellry page, or FLickr?
        Have a smashing day🙂

      • I am not sure, but I do not think so. I’ll let you know.

  2. Wow, these are beautiful! Thank you for sharing this with us!

    • Thank you!🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

