DIY Valentines: Map of Love

January 26, 2012 at 18:42 | Posted in Crafts - DIY, Stimulus | 10 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

A couple of months ago I saw this fantastic frame in Pinterest and I knew right away I wanted to make one.

I think the idea is wonderful! And very romantic and cute, so I waited until now to make it so I can give it to my husband for Valentine’s Day. It is an early gift, but he doesn’t mindšŸ˜‰

Since I pinned it, I’ve been on the look-out to find some maps at my favorite recycle store here in the Bay Area, The East Bay Depot for Creative Re-Use. Not only do they have amazing crap all over the store, they are super inexpensive! I found the maps for 0.30 cents each! (I also found a powerful blender in like-new condition for $6, just in case you were wondering. Jealous now?)

Once I got the maps I needed, Michael donated a blank canvas to me from his artĀ supplies and I put manos a la obra!

I painted the canvas black, cut-out the hearts out of the maps making sure you can see the name of the special cities. In my case, Barcelona, Chicago and the SF Bay Area. I printed the words in a font I liked (addingĀ happily ever after for the last heart), and glued them along with the hearts to the canvas. I applied Mod Podge Matte-Mat to everything, let it dry overnight, and… Finito!

If you need a visual tutorial, visit Mimi Moz. Ā Thank you, Danielle, Ā for theĀ stimulus!

I craft all night and party everyday at theseĀ Craft Parties. Check them out and party with us!

Pin It

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. this is the perfect valentine’s day gift! gotta get my maps together!

    • isn’t awesome? i want to see yours!šŸ™‚

  2. Such a nice and romantic idea! Love it.

    • Thank you!

  3. what font is that? love it.

    • I know, right? I am in love toošŸ™‚ the name is Sketch Rockwell

  4. Great idea! My problem is that we still don’t know where we’ll end up long-term. Nevertheless, I could always start a map.

    • Thanks! I think You can still do one now and then update it when you move by leaving space next to the last heart. We moved last year but we are still in the area so I used a SF Bay Area onešŸ˜‰. Thanks again for stopping by!

  5. What a sweet idea! I’m sure my husband would love this! Thanks for sharingšŸ™‚

    • Thank you, Tiffany!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

