DIY Valentines:Woven Heart Racquet

January 8, 2012 at 23:26 | Posted in Crafts - DIY, Tutorials | 11 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Valentine’s day  is almost a month away! From now until then, I will post projects and ideas for you to make your own Valentines.

The first project is this pretty cool  woven heart racquet.

 

This was actually a birthday gift for my friend Jennifer, who loves to play tennis and is really pretty good at it (she kicks ass). But it can also be a nice Valentine for anybody.

To make it, you just need to go to your favorite thrift store and look for a (preferably vintage) tennis racquet. I found mine at Goodwill, and it cost me only $2,99 (bargain!).  I am a visual person, so I needed to print a diagram at real scale to use as a guide. You can download the one I made here.

Then grab some left over yarn or ribbon you might have laying around, attach a safety pin to one end, and start weaving the heart through the strings of the racquet  following the diagram (I taped mine to it).

I started to do so horizontally, but that wasn’t right. So I had to unweave it  and start again, this time weaving it vertically. DO NOT do it like this (see below) because the humps of the heart are not continuous.

Instead start on one of the sides of the heart (sorry, no pictures). My yarn was chunky so I only needed it to weave the same line of squares two times (up and down), But if whatever  you are using is thinner, you will need to weave up and down as necessarily to fill the squares.

And ta-da! You now have an awesome Valentine for your love one! Easy and very, very inexpensive.

Did you make one? Show me by uploading it at the Mother Crafter Flickr Project Pool!

I craft all night and party everyday at these Craft Parties.

11 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. This is a great idea! I love vintage wooden racquets. Thanks for sharing! PS I am a huge fan of puns, too, so I find it pretty entertaining that it says spread the “love” under a tennis racquet post.🙂

    I’m stopping by from Sugar Bee Crafts.

    • Thank you Betsy!

  2. Very cute! Would be a great gift for my daughter, who is a tennis player. Thanks so much for the idea! Pinning!

    • Thank you Ellen!

  3. Love this post! I’m having a linky party, and would love for you to join! Here is the link http://www.thesouthernproductqueen.com/one-stop-shoppe-linky-party-3 Thanks for sharing!!!

    • Thank you! On my way…😉

  4. totally fabulous – I wonder if it would work as well on a spaghetti-colander – LOL!

    • it might work! LOL thank you for stopping by🙂

  5. This is a really cute idea!

    • thank you!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

