DIY Christmas Stockings

December 13, 2011 at 23:44 | Posted in Crafts - DIY, Stimulus | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Who doesn’t like to dig in their stockings on Christmas Day?

This week I submitted two entries for a Christmas Stocking co ntest. Prudent Baby hosted the “Put a Serger in my Stocking” contest, where the prize is a SERGER. I like craft contests. It motivates me, besides winning or not, to create and stop putting off  projects for “when i have time” because they have a deadline. I guess I need tough love to craft😉

Anyway, the stockings needed to be made out of jersey/knit fabric, so I made mine from old t-shirts and scraps of even older t-shirts. The first one is made out of 65+ hand sewn (!) circles that I cut out of two of my husbands old donated T-shirts. The ruffles are like a garden of little holiday flowers.

And this one is for Paloma. I appliqued a flower (for joy), a heart (for love) and of course, a stuffed paloma (dove in Spanish, for peace and her). I also sewed ruffles at the top to make it a little more fun and whimsy.

I do hope to find the serger in one of them on Xmas Day! Of course, if it is in Paloma’s stocking, she is still too small  to claim it, so I will be happy to claim it for her ; )

Here are a couple more ideas to make your own Christmas stockings.

Cluk Cluk Sew has a tutorial to make a lined stocking with a cuff.

Prudent Baby teach you how to crochet a stocking using granny squares.

Martha Stewart shows how to make one from a sweater.

No time or sewing skills? Try this easy no-sew idea over at A  Fanciful Twist.

Go ahead and be inspired. And let me know what did you find in your stocking in a couple of weeks.

I craft all night and party everyday at these Craft Parties.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

