Vacation Month: Guest Blogger Adrianne from Happy Hour Projects!

November 4, 2011 at 06:43 | Posted in Crafts - DIY, Tutorials | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , ,
Hey mamas, I am so glad to join you here at Mother Crafter!  My name is Adrianne and I hail from Happy Hour Projects, where I bring you quick and simple projects you can normally do in an hour or less.

I have a wonderful husband and a fabulous 10-month old girl, who is the inspiration for the majority of my projects.  But (and I’m sure a lot of you mamas out there can relate), the demands of being a mom and a wife and an employee – among all those other hats we wear – means my need for craft-therapy is high, but my time is limited.  I love my family, but it was time to institute my own happy hour for myself, and I love sharing it with all of you!

I do a lot of sewing and fabric projects, and some of my favorite projects are scrapbusters – like the one I’m going to show you today.  I also host a link party every weekend, I’d love to see you come link up at Freestyle Friday
But on to today’s project.  Thanksgiving is one of my favorite holidays, and it’s coming up quickly.  I whipped up a few turkey hairclips in honor of turkey day for some special young ladies out of felt and ribbon, and I thought I’d take a moment to show you how I did it!
The Little Turkey Hair Clip
Time: 15 minutes
Supplies:
  • Alligator clip – you can find these at either craft or beauty supply stores.  You may think it’s wasteful to buy a whole pack… but trust me, once you start making hair clips, you will use an entire pack.🙂
  • Felt Scraps – I used a few inches of brown, and just enough orange to make a beak
  • Ribbon – 5 cuts of 4″ lengths in whatever you think is a turkey color, plus about 6-8″ of ribbon to wrap your clip
  • Googly-eyes (optional – you could just use felt or foam)
  • Hot-glue gun
Cut two felt circles about 2″ in diameter, and a scrap for the beak.  Everything you see here is enough to make three turkeys.  Cut five pieces of turkey-tail ribbon 4″ long.  I used two pieces of red, two of orange, and one of yellow.  I cut a length of brown to cover my alligator clip.  If you don’t have brown, use a color that could pass for feet instead.🙂 I try not to buy much for small projects like this – my motto is, use what you have.  Don’t have anything brown?  Try a pink turkey, or a rainbow-colored one!
First thing I did was cover my alligator clip with ribbon so that it looks nice.  I did leave the top side uncovered, because it will be glued inside the body.  Just make sure to cover the pinchy-end of your alligator clip, which will sort of be his feet.
Then I turned the rest of my ribbons into “feathers”.  This is hard to describe how to fold them but take a peek at the photo.  They won’t fan out as well if you just fold them in half.  I just put a dot of glue at one end and secured the other end in place.  This will make it easier to glue onto your turkey when it’s time.
Now arrange your feathers.  After I already glued the beak on, I realized it would be much easier to have done the feathers first, that way the face can be centered on.  But if you already made your face, just center your feathers the best you can.
I started at the sides, and worked toward the middle to get it centered.
Now, to glue your felt body to the alligator clip.  Take your non-feathered circle, and squirt a line of glue.  Place it between the jaws of the clip – facing your metal side if you didn’t fully cover your clip.
Cover the whole thing with glue. 
Then place your feathered side on top.  Almost done!
Just finish his face!  He can be clipped into hair or onto a headband to wear.  You could also skip the alligator clip altogether and attach the turkey right to an older girl’s headband.
This is my daughter, Raya, who can’t be bothered with modeling when there are Cheerios to be had – this is the least blurry shot I could manage.  We will call this an “action shot”.
But I can’t be frustrated with a face like this.  And hopefully by Thanksgiving, she will even leave it on for at least five minutes.🙂
Thank you, Vanina, for having me and I hope you are enjoying your time away!
Happy Thanksgiving to you all from Mother Crafter and Happy Hour Projects!!
~ Adrianne

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

