Stimulus: Baby Quilts

August 11, 2011 at 21:20 | Posted in Crafts - DIY, Stimulus | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Who doesn’t love baby quilts? They are cute and some are handmade by someone special in your life but most important they are very practical. You can use them in the crib, as an art piece to hang on the wall or you can take it with you on the go and put your baby down without having to worry too much about dust or dirt.

Back when I was pregnant I made my first quilt. And since then I have so many ideas to make more but haven’t had the time or energy to fully commit to making one. The furthest I got was making sure the new sewing machine I bought had the basic quilting tools to make it easier. Some progress is still progress, right?ūüėČ

Anyways, back to the baby quilts. We didn’t know what we were expecting but for some reason I was very drawn to everything that had birds on it. It is pretty weird since we were not sure about names either, and when she arrive we knew her name was going to be Paloma (which means dove in¬†Spanish). Weird! So the baby quilt I made has an embroidered bird on it. I found this awesome book from Linda Kopp called Quilts, Baby! and fell in love with all the quilts, but especially with the one in the cover.

I was nervous to make a quilt but it was easier than I expected and I really like how it came out. We decided to hang it on the wall, in her diaper changing station. She really liked it from the beginning, and it is a good distraction for her while changing the diaper.

I totally recommend the book if you are looking for some cuteness to make, from quilts to crib bumpers to a play mat.

If you need some stimulus, I found great tutorials and free patterns online that I want to share with you. Red Rooster has this wonderful quilt with a giraffe applique and you can download the pattern for free.

Milk and Honey Quilts shares this adorable elephant quilt too.

Natalia and Kathleen over at Piece N Quilt made this unique and gorgeous Modern Baby Quilt, and they have easy to follow instructions and a free template.

Lastly, I could not pass this sweet duvet featured in the How-Tuesdays at the Etsy Blog, courtesy of  Baby Stuff by Aranzi Aronzo.   

I am overwhelmed by the cuteness of it all! Aren’t you?

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Thanks for including the pattern links. I love the one with the giraffe, and will have to download and try it.

    • I know, right? Super cute. Thank you for stopping by!ūüôā


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

