Bay Area Quilt, Craft, and Sewing Festival

February 27, 2012 at 11:37 | Posted in Crafts - DIY, Stimulus | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I’ve been feeling the quilting itch for a while now, and quilting definitely intrigues me and scares me at the same time. Do I have the skills and patience required for it? Other than the quilt I made for Paloma when I was pregnant, I haven’t really got into it. Sometimes it take me a while to fully get into new things, but I am sure I would get around to it eventually. Maybe I could take a class this Spring.

When I saw that the Bay Area Quilt, Craft, and Sewing Festival was happening this weekend, I decided to go to check it out and find some new stimulus.  I wore this purse my Aunt Melissa sent me to honor the occasion ;) The details on it are crazy, and it is truly a piece of work. I got compliments from the attendees, it was definitely a conversation piece.

The festival was bigger than I thought it would be, with exhibitors of all kinds and from places all around the country. There where hundreds of quilts. And they were all AMAZING. I rummaged through all the booths soaking in all the patterns, colors, textures and techniques. Beautiful, beautiful handiwork. One of my favorites  quilts were in a booth featuring Amy Bradley Designs. I think her quilts are non-traditional and the majority of them are fresh and funny. She has a pattern called Fabric Addict that I think is pretty hilarious. It consist of four blocks, each one saying: Find the fabric. Hug the fabric. Buy the fabric. Stash the fabric (this one with the husband freaking out in the background).  And the Quilt Diva Quilt is funny too. I love her quilts!

Here are more pictures of the day. From vegetables and flowers cats to army theme and everything in between, quilting has tons of possibilities.

Husqvarna, Janone and Bernina had booths as well, with all the I-can-only-afford-this-machine-if-I-win-the-lottery embroidery and quilting machines  doing crazy thread work like this Art-Noveau lady in metallic thread.

I really enjoyed it. Maybe going there and seeing all the wonderful things you can quilt was the final push I needed to start my quilting journey. What about you? Do you quilt? How did you start?

I craft all night and party everyday at these Craft Parties. Check them out and party with us!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. [...] Bay Area Quilt, Craft, and Sewing Festival (mothercrafter.wordpress.com) [...]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

